Vresse-sur-Semois

In November, a high school friend of mine invited me and my boyfriend to go on a little trip to Vresse-sur-Semois, a small picturesque town in the South of Belgium. She hired a chalet in the woods, and planned a nice carefree-weekend, where no one had to worry about assignments, deadlines and studying for midterms. It was exactly what I needed, so I immediately said yes. A couple of weeks later, we were on the road to nature.

Vresse1

Vresse2

Vresse3

Vresse4
On our first day, we started our walk through the woods. What we thought would be a chill stroll in the afternoon, turned out to be a 10km-hike, where we probably climbed to the highest point of the hills in Vresse.

Vresse5
Once we got to the top, our sore legs were forgotten once we saw this amazing view of the town.

Vresse6
After that, the climb down began. No more paved roads, but steep downhill through the forest. I have to admit, I slipped a couple of times. Buying Dr. Martens boots instead of hiking shoes probably wasn’t such a good idea.

Vresse7

Vresse8

Vresse9

I’ve been longing to go back to this place, especially now with deadlines and midterms coming up. I’m sure I’ll be back one day, when I’ll be in desperate need of another carefree-weekend.

Leave a Reply

